Encore, Support L&R

L&R2013 ENCORE with Five Alarm Funk!


Love & Records had such a good time having Five Alarm Funk at our festival last year we figured it was about time to get them back to funk your socks off!

Join us at The Slice June 23 as we announce our Love & Records 2014 festival line-up (happening Sept 13 at Galt gardens www.LoveAndRecords.ca), and kick off summer with Five Alarm Funk and their new album. Tickets $25 Available at Blueprint and The Slice.

Who are these funksters?

Five Alarm Funk will release Abandon Earth, the band’s fifth studio album, on June 7 at the Commodore Ballroom in Vancouver, BC. The concept album, describing the destruction of planet Earth by a giant robot, is the culmination of 10 years of relentless touring and the 10 musicians’ love for high octane, delirium-inducing dance music. Five Alarm Funk uses gruff funk vocals, psychedelic rock guitars, Balkan-inspired horns, intricate arrangements, and a few well-timed explosions to tell the tale of a technological behemoth rising from the center of the Earth and unleashing a torrent of natural disasters and monsters on humanity. Abandon Earth was recorded at the Farm Studios in Vancouver, BC and produced by Ben Kaplan, whose recent credits include fellow Vancouverites Mother Mother and UK superstars Biffy Clyro.

Five Alarm Funk’s fourth album, Rock the Sky, was nominated for ‘Instrumental Album of the Year’ at the 2013 Juno Awards and ‘Instrumental Recording of the Year’ at the 2013 WCMAs. In November 2013, Five Alarm Funk celebrated its 10-year anniversary as a band with two sold-out shows at the Imperial in Vancouver, BC.

Summer 2014 will see Five Alarm Funk touring Canada coast to coast and playing a number of shows in the United States. Upcoming highlights include stops at the Ottawa Jazz Festival, Saskatoon Jazz Festival, Sunfest in London, Onatrio, North Country Fair in Alberta, and Summer Meltdown in Washington State.

On stage the group is an unstoppable orgy of energy. Ten musicians perform intricate and airtight arrangements with delirious dance moves and full-on head banging. Choreographed arm movements coincide with melodic climaxes, while the four percussionists create a true spectacle, not to be missed.

Five Alarm Funk is:

Gabe Boothroyd – Guitar Oliver Gibson – Guitar Neil Towers – Bass Tayo Branston – Drums/Vocals Tom Towers – Congas Carl Julig – Timbales Nimish Parekh – Trombone Dameian Walsh – Tenor Saxophone Kent Wallace – Trumpet